Alphabet Frames For Baby/Kids’ Rooms

Standard

I recently received an invite to a 1 year old’s birthday party and I thought about how much she loves books and how she’s starting to speak. At the same time, I wanted to make a gift that she would have for years to come. This smart little cookie will be learning her ABCs before we know it, and I thought it would be cute to make a framed alphabet for her bedroom wall.

I picked out a frame I liked purely based on the shape. It didn’t matter if the frame was brown with red polka dots because I was going to paint it! The frame was actually bright shade of green. It got a layer of white paint, followed by a layer of gold paint, followed by another layer of white paint. Then I took a medium-grit piece of sand paper to it to bring out some of the gold for a touch of a distressed look. It’s hard to see how the frame came out with the photos shrunken for the site.

I picked out some patterned paper and cut it to the size of the frame, then laid out my letters, filling in with flower and button embellishments. Once I was happy with a basic layout I fastened everything to the paper then added more embellishments and final touches.

After making the first alphabet frame, I was asked to make another (for a friend’s baby shower). We had photos of the baby’s room, painted in pinks and greens. There was a wooden crib and furniture so we picked out a wooden frame to match and some paper to complement the room.

I added some ribbon to the embellishments on this frame and chose random letters to replace with my buttons and flowers (versus the frame above where I spelled out the child’s name).

The photos of this baby’s room really had a specific color scheme and I was able to incorporate all of the colors in here. There was also a floral theme with flowers painted on the walls so hopefully this alphabet frame will fit in nicely.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

