Scarf Week: Thursday

Standard

I’m loving Scarf Week, are you?

BROWN ALPACA SCARF

I love Alpaca yarn. It is one of the softest yarns out there (aside from Angora to which I am allergic). This particular yarn is baby alpaca from Catalina Yarns. Baby alpaca fiber typically comes from the first shearing of an alpaca, giving you the softest, most beautiful fiber the animal may ever produce. The weight of this yarn is so perfect for the scarf; it gives it an incredibly luxurious feel.

I just wanted something super-simple to whip up and warm my neck in the winter so I went with a classic K2, P2 rib. This gorgeous chocolate brown matched my green corduroy coat. I also picked up the same yarn in a cream color and knit a scarf for my sister-in-law (it was stuffed into her cable knit bag for Christmas – see previous post).

If you get the opportunity to see it, the episode of Dirty Jobs from Season 1 where Mike Rowe visits an Alpaca Farm is great (and funny). You can see how shearing the animals is really a difficult task. Actually, here you go! I found a video clip of the episode on Discovery Channel’s website.
 
 
NEW YEARS EVE SCARF

I crocheted this scarf in just a few hours on NYE (I think 2007-2008) while watching a Scrubs marathon.

I had picked up this multi-color purple cotton yarn in the clearance section at the craft store with the intention of making a floral scarf similar to one I saw a woman crocheting on the train.

Even though I wrote down the name, I could not locate the woman’s pattern online (I think the website had taken it down), so I went in search of another skinny floral scarf. I found a substitute: Interweave Press published a free pattern download in 2007 called “Get the Skinny Scarves”. I knew it would be a great match with this yarn.

I’ll be back tomorrow with a new post for Scarf Week.

What I’m listening to as I write this post: Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings

Leave a Reply

