Little Boy Blue Blanket

Standard

A family friend is expecting a little boy. A handmade blanket is a gift that is always appreciated and useful! I like to make baby blankets “toddler-size” so they can be used for a number of years, and can be converted to a throw when the child gets older.

This adorable “Little Boy Blue” blanket, as I refer to it, was crocheted all in one piece using a large crochet hook and two strands of yarn held together. I started by making many rows of double crochets.

When I had a decent size to it, the piece was turned and I started making row after row of “border” stitches in different sizes (singles, triples, half doubles…) creating what would appear to the untrained eye as a big granny square.

Photo Credit: lawagency.co.uk

Little Boy Blue,
Come blow your horn,
The sheep’s in the meadow,
The cow’s in the corn;
Where is that boy
Who looks after the sheep?
Under the haystack
Fast asleep.
Will you wake him?
Oh no, not I
– Mother Goose

2 responses »

  1. Its so cool how the bigger “boxes” are in the center. A very creative pattern. I love the two shades of blue together! What a lucky little boy blue he will be 🙂

    • Thanks! I really wasn’t sure about it for a while, but I am actually very happy with the way the pattern turned out. Now that I think of it, this is actually the blanket I was working on that night I was at your place and we watched Avatar. And we got blueberry gelato! I guess it was a Blue themed night.

Leave a Reply

