Silk Garden Scarf

Standard

Noro yarns can be found in most yarn stores. They come from Japan and each quality is available in an array of beautiful multicolors. I saw this particular yarn a few years ago at a yarn shop near Union Square and was attracted to the brilliant turquoise and magenta colors. I bought one skein (125mt, DK weight) figuring I’d make an accessory and it’s been hanging out in my stash ever since

A couple of weeks ago I was looking for a lightweight project to tote around the city all day, so I tossed the yarn and a pair of size 13 circulars in my bag.

The blend of silk and lambswool creates a great texture and beautiful highs and lows in the yarn. I didn’t want to do anything fancy, just let the texture and colors shine on their own. I decided to do a loosely knit garter stitch skinny scarf. Something colorful that could be tossed on during this crisp Fall weather. By the end of the day I had accumulated enough knitting time on the train, in waiting rooms and just walking down the street that the scarf was complete!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

